How to Deactivate and Freeze a User in Salesforce



Deactivate a User in Salesforce, the Admin can manage all the Salesforce users and the access they have to your Salesforce org.  This includes the process of deactivating a user from Salesforce so they no longer have access.  Typically this happens when someone exits the company or no longer needs a license.  On the surface, this may sound easy to do but when you don’t perform best practices to deactivate a Salesforce user then the consequences can affect your Salesforce org.

While Deleting a user in Salesforce is not possible, it is possible to deactivate a user. Salesforce does not allow an outright deletion of users. Deleting a user can result in orphaned records and the loss of critical business information. Deactivating a user prevents access but preserves all historical activity and records.

To deactivate a user

1. Search Users in the quick find box, then select users

 

Highlight users in setup
   2. Select the user you wish to deactivate – uncheck the active box
Show active checkbox

Keep in mind that after deactivation:

  • The user remains in the list of users, but shown as not active.
  • The user still appears as a member of public groups they’ve been a part of and any default accounts and sales teams.
  • Deactivating the user doesn’t affect the records they owned until ownership is transferred to others.
  • All the user’s overrides remain, but they’re frozen.
  • In Chatter, the user’s profile remains, but it shows they’re inactive. However, the user remains the owner of any Chatter group they owned until an admin reassigns ownership.

You’re prevented from activating a user if the user is the:

  • The Default owner of leads
  • Default or automated case owner
  • Default lead creator or owner
  • Recipient of a workflow email alert
  • A user selected in a custom hierarchy field
  • A customer portal administrator.

If one of these scenarios is preventing you from deactivating a user you can freeze the user, this will prevent the user from logging in and you can update any processes and ownerships that are causing conflicts.

The main difference between freezing a user and deactivating them is that Freezing only prevents a user from logging in. Deactivating a user also prevents a user from logging in but frees up the Salesforce license the user was using that can then be given to another user.

 

For more blogs: How to Display Toast Notification in Salesforce (LWC)

Reference from: click here